Oh, Nala……

What am I to do….Nala is a bit wild and crazy lately.

I can’t let her run out back because she keeps reopening wounds on her legs.   The boots we purchased  take three of us to put on.  So instead, she is sequestered to the gated porch.  The kitchen window over looks the side of this porch and Nala has discovered this.  It was funny at first when she would jump up on all fours to look at me doing dishes, but like everything else she does, it got out of hand.

Yes, that’s the screen that I will be replacing when it starts to get buggy.

So, I said to Hubby if you get a chance could you trim her nails.  Well, we had a busy weekend and it didn’t get done.  I confess that I can’t do this task.  It’s really, one of the only things I won’t do.  I can do everything else, but I am so afraid to hit her quik, that I refuse to cut her nails….  Off to Pet Smart we go.  I call ahead to make an appointment and was told that there was no need, I could walk right in.  Great I thought.

I had a few errands to run this afternoon, so Nala hops into the back of Clifford……

What, don’t you have a name for your car? Mine is big and red, hence the name Clifford.

Dressed in her “going out on the town” harness  (otherwise I would be ice skating behind her) we head out for the “non” appointment.  I don’t recall taking her in a store before, so there were a lot of first and I of course had no treats on hand.  She started of with being startled by the automatic doors and then we had to walk across some super shiny floors that had no traction.

Why would a pet store put such a slippery finish on their floor? We could not have been the first people/dog to have an issue with this.

We manage to scuttle across the floor to the grooming department. Inside, I stop at the desk to fill out some paperwork while Nala proceeds to climb on the desk to get attention from the groomer.  The groomers all fuss over her and tell her she is sooooooo pretty.  I have a good feeling about this.  I then mention her sensitive paws.  Being the professionals that they are, the said not to worry they do this all the time.

I should have known better.  Nothing is easy for any member of the Green Thumb Family.

Nala was a pain about getting on the table.  I mention that she is very food motivated.  They inform me they do not pass out treat.  That sounds like a pretty bad policy to me, but I just continue watching.  The groomer gets her on the table and starts cooing to her, to try to calm her down.  She is so nervous that the entire table is rattling.

Fast forward five minutes……Nala has two groomers holding/restraining her and one attempting to trim her nails.  I interrupt this circus and tell them to stop.

Nala has an appointment next week.  All they are going to do is have her sit on the table and give her treats.  REALLY?

The results……..I didn’t have to pay for a failed nail trimming, Nala is now scared of the groomers, and her clickty clack self is now tethered to the basketball hop enjoying her dinner from a treat  stick.

1 Comment

Filed under Pets

One response to “Oh, Nala……

  1. Maryann

    G,anyone who is familiar with Nala had to be just LAUGHING!!!!I t was soooNala!!Good one,kiddo.

Leave a Reply

