Spring Break is here!

“What would you like to do?” I ask the kids. It is the first day of their much needed spring break. The weather has taken a turn for the worse…..so there will be no swimming. They were so disappointed. I promised them if they were well behaved this week, I would make it fun! They took the deal.

“So, what do you want to do today?”

Mr. D piped up with his most favorite activity.

“The little zoo!”

This would mean the local Akron Zoo, not the bigger zoo in Cleveland. Lucky for him, Grandma had purchased a family zoo pass for us. A great present for an animal crazy kid like him. Ms. A did an eye roll and a sigh. She could probably walk the zoo blindfolded because of our high visitation rate. To appease her, I told her to pick a friend to come along. With a smile on her face, she ran to the telephone to find a friend to come along.

My goal was to leave the house by ten and be there by 10:30. I had thought the zoo opened at 10, so we would miss the opening rush. Well, I thought wrong….they were still on winter hours and only opened at 11. We had 30 minutes to wait until the doors open.

20120409-175356.jpg

20120409-175405.jpg

20120409-175414.jpg

Needless to say we did a lot of climbing. I am sure none of it was allowed, but it kept everyone happy until the doors were opened.

We “ran” through the zoo. Stopping briefly at each exhibit. Just long enough to spot the animal and off we went. Thank goodness I wore my sneakers. I defiantly got my cardio for the day.

What, no pictures you ask…..Nope…..I could barely keep up with these three, much less take any photos.

I wonder what the kids have planned for me tomorrow?

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Spring Break is here!

  1. IKim M. Hammond

    How fun! We haven’t been to this zoo yet.

  2. Sounds like you’re running your own “Camp Mom” during Spring Break — i just finished running mine (our Spring Break was the last week of March). We did all kinds of random things, but I also made them clean up their rooms and try on their old spring clothes. Drop on by, if you like, to see our “camp’s activities.”

  3. A family zoo pass is a wonderful gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

