My mom & cancer

20120511-215028.jpg

This is my mom. The picture was taken last summer at a friend’s wedding.

I needed to find a good picture of her and this is what I came up with.

This is the picture we are going to use in church. I haven’t shown her.

She has cancer. Has been battling it for ten years. I think she is done fighting. She doesn’t want to go outside. She doesn’t want to eat. The children just tire her. She doesn’t want to talk.

She has tried everything and fought harder than anyone I have known. She has had so many surgeries and treatments that we don’t count them anymore. She doesn’t want and can’t have anymore.

Her cancer is rare and unknown. She was given six weeks and ten years have past.

I am just sad. I don’t want her to go. I still need a mom. I have one more baby to introduce to her.

My Dad is sad. He is lost. He has not given up. He has not accepted.

I worry for him a lot.

Mother’s Day feels different this time.

I am sad.

12 Comments

Filed under Family

12 responses to “My mom & cancer

  1. I was so sorry to read your post. Your Mom looks like a lovely lady.

    • She really is. I haven’t done any post about her and cancer, because we don’t “talk” about it. She is my number one follower, but now she doesn’t read the blog anymore. It is something that is always in the back of my head and it’s a relief to talk about it.

  2. Jim

    Kim, Sydney, and I love your mom. We are thinking of you all.

  3. I am so sorry to hear this very sad news. God Bless.

  4. Sorry to read about your mom. I hope she gets the strength to fight through this. There is nothing more devastating than seeing a loved one fight through an illness. God bless her

  5. shwetajacob

    So sorry to read this.

  6. I’m so sorry. I can’t even imagine what you’re going through.

Leave a Reply

