She made me cry today.

I walked out of the room today. I didn’t want to hear her yelling at me. I feel like I am a small child again. Doing something that displeased her and waiting for my punishment.

The morning started fine. I had brought my iPad over to show her some pictures of Ms. A’s last day of school. While flipping through, she sees the picture of the scooter. Then it started….an intense lecture about always getting want I wanted. It then moved into the topic of my finances and she even touched into the topic of me being irresponsible. I sat there and bit my tongue. Knowing from experience that it was better to ride the wave than fight it. I was overwhelmed, I wanted to fight back, my feelings were so hurt.

She then says to me she wanted to sleep, so I left the room.

I took a deep breath and went outside to talk to my Dad. He had ordered some mulch and was working in his yard. I told him what happened. He listened and nodded. He made no comments. He then asked if I brought the phone out with me. I had forgotten, so I headed back to the house. I was only gone a few minutes and when I returned I heard her yelling for me.

“Where did you go….why didn’t you hear me….I’ve been yelling forever….the laundry is done….get your Dad”

I told her that I’ll would take care of the laundry. Still yelling, she tells me I don’t know how and it needs to be hung on hangers. I told her that this is something that I can do. I went to the laundry room and I find the machine was still going. I say to her that the wash was not done and she still was yelling at me about the hangers.

I stop and looked at her. I then walked out of the room.

I know she is dying. I know she is constantly in discomfort. But for some reason…..I guess I had thought that maybe she would have wanted to spend this time together with me. I had thought we might talk, tell stories, and just remember things.

No….I just feel worthless after our visits. Nothing can be done right. Every conversation is turned to a lecture.

I have very selfish feelings. I am leaving the kids to the care of a babysitter. I am neglecting my household chores. I am missing my friends because of this schedule. When I do get home, I am in such a foul mood. So short with the kids and Hubby. I am not being a good mom. I yell at the littlest thing. I realize I am taking it out on my family. I feel so bad about that. I am so sorry about that.

I want to walk away.

I want it to be over.

I come back for my Dad. He is alone. It’s not fair.

I have been sitting on the deck with the phone. I go in to check on her. She is now asleep. My Dad walks in, he has come in to check the laundry…….

10 Comments

Filed under Family

10 responses to “She made me cry today.

  1. My heart aches for you. I’m so sorry things are going the way they are. Have you tried telling her? Maybe put it writing if you’re concerned the conversation might head south otherwise.

    Definitely be there for your dad. Be there for yourself, too – no regrets. *hug*

  2. Hang in there! I know you’re going through a terrible time right now but I’m sure your husband understands. And your Mom really needs you. It may not seem like it to you now but believe me later on you will realize that these last days are the most precious gift you can give her.

  3. sleuthsisters

    Sometimes illness makes someone a kinder, gentler person and it’s a shame A—— has not fallen into this catagory. At this point you are doing this for your dad. You know what she says about you isn’t true so walk away and ignore. Love ya.

  4. jefflisakbooks

    I’m sorry to hear you’re going through this. We went through something similar with my grandmother a few years back. It’s tough when someone is ill like that – they’re not themselves. Hard on them and hard on the family too. I’ll pray for you all. My timing is a bit bad on this one, but wanted you to know that I put a link to your blog on my own this evening for a blogger award. I hope that things get better for you and your family soon.

  5. This all sounds so hard for you. I think you really need to carve out a bit of selfish time in your week to do whatever you want, be it plants, a lovely soak in the bath or just sit and do nothing.
    Sends hugs from the Highlands
    xxx

  6. This situation is so sad 😦 I send you hugs x

Leave a Reply

