Getting travel ready!

Hubby and I were lucky to have a sitter last night. Oh, a romantic date night you think…nope, not for us. We took the opportunity, without the children, to go shopping for some things for our upcoming trips.

This year is the year of travel for us; a non traveling type of family. We will be going to Florida, Walt Disney World, for Ms. A dance competition this coming month. Who in their right mind would go to Florida in the summer and visit a crowed park. Yeah…not our ideal time frame, but we are trying to make the best of it. We then will be traveling to China and be united with our daughter. This will also be a tropical climate, but at least it will be in the Fall. Lastly, we will be attending and participating in a wedding in November in the Florida Keys. This will be the first vacation for our new family of FIVE!

I can’t believe all the traveling adventures we will have in just a few short months!

Now, a little background info…. I am just a tad bit of an anxious traveler. Hubby has a handful to deal with me and the kids. I think of all the possible disasters and get worked up about them. I am the person who listens to the flight attendant. I check for the emergency exits and always keep my seatbelt on. Yeah, that’s me.

Before we even leave, I always make my list and check it twice… and then check it again. I do all the laundry, so I can choose from all the clothes, to pack for the all the members of the family. I then have to clean the house before we leave. ( heaven forbid someone break in our house and think I am a lousy housekeeper) I pack for the dog and her kennel stay. I get someone to check on the other critters left behind, pick up the mail, and water the plants. I make sure we have all the electronics and chargers, spending money from the bank, snacks for the road, and everyone’s comfort item.

And you wonder why I stress out about traveling….

With my list started, I see that there were a few things that need to be purchased. First off, some new lightweight suitcases. I did a little research and there is a huge differences in suitcases. Sizes, weight, wheels, and price. We settled on these two Delsey Air Flite. They are very light, so I hope that this will help us keep our forty pound weight limit for China.

20120630-100136.jpg

We also did some shopping for some very light weight clothing to help us deal with the heat and sun.

20120630-101120.jpg

20120630-101552.jpg

The shirts have UV protection and are vented along the side and back panels. The have the feel of something silky. The maker is Adidas and its their performance series. I am going to have Mr. D wear them this week to try them out. I don’t want him to have a melt down on vacation because something doesn’t feel right. We also picked up some hats. Of course, Mr. D insisted on a fishing hat. I also purchased some light weight ball caps meant for runners. I plan on putting the children in the most obnoxious colors in order to be able to spot them in a crowd.

Ms. A got some cute halter tops and tank tops. We had a challenge finding shorts that where a decent length. Finding clothing for her age group is becoming so difficult. The clothes seem to be very adult like and risky. It took me three different stores to find shorts that were mid thigh length. I swear everything was Daisy Duke style.

So with the suitcases picked out. Clothing found, purchased, and washed. Reservations made at the kennel for Nala. I can cross three things off the ever growing list.

I need a vacation!

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “Getting travel ready!

  1. When are we going to squeeze in a trip baby register? This needs too be done too! if you travel to China towards the end of the year you’re going to need warmer clothes for Beijing- their weather is like ours. Then you’ll need summer clothes for Guangzhou.

  2. Ignore my atrocious spelling above.

Leave a Reply

