A vacation planter

I got back into my greenhouse today after a long hiatus. I really haven’t done any gardening with my planters this entire summer other than the occasional watering. My mom was a big supporter of my little business and she had great love for my plants. I kind of let it fall aside when I started sitting with her in the mornings. After she passed away I didn’t have it in me to do anything. I am ashamed to say that I didn’t even make anything for her funeral.

Today is the first time since June that I dug into my dirt barrel.

My dear friend came back from a summer vacation with a project for me to do. She purchased a natural sea sponge and wanted me to make a planter for her.

20120825-221227.jpg

An interesting container to use I thought. I placed a coffee filter in the base, added soil, and started planting.

20120825-221402.jpg

I am curious to see how it does. It has a unique look and she was pleased with the results.

It felt good getting my hands dirty again. I still have a huge inventory of pottery and several flats of succulents growing. Not sure what to do with them. I can’t let them just sit there. I better start working again.

6 Comments

Filed under Plants

6 responses to “A vacation planter

  1. Mr. B

    Gwenael, Am waiting for my planter since Lori’s is so neat.I can understand not wanting to continue your planters after your Mom’s death. Am glad Lori jump-started your resurgence in the plantings.

  2. What a great idea for a planter! It looks lovely.I’ve tried so many times to grow succulents but never have any luck. I think I over-water them. I’ve been experiencing a similar kind of withdrawal from gardening since my Mum died. Although her participation grew less as she got older, she was my main motivator and I just can’t seem to get up the same enthusiasm for it now she’s gone.

  3. OMG that is an awesome planter.

Leave a Reply

