Happy Birthday Nala!

Happy birthday Nala. You are two years old today and you know what that means. You are no longer a puppy. No more excuse for jumping on visitors, knocking over little people, counter surfing, chewing on my beloved plants, destroying stuffies that were not picked up, and all that other stuff you do.

20120925-132752.jpg

You have been the thorn in my side since Hubby decided to get you. I don’t do puppies I told him. I love rescuing older dogs. You know what you are dealing with when getting an older dog, but an exception was made for you.

You have used my clean floors as your personal potty way to many times, stolen to many dinners off the counters, dragged me through the neighborhood chasing squirrels, and failed both sessions of obedience training. I have been at my whits end on more than one occasion with you. I even will admit that I threatened the family with your return to the breeder, if they did not step up and help with you.

20120925-133222.jpg

However, today you have turned two. The magic number for dogs to become good. You are starting to show this “good” dog trait. We can leave you out at night to sleep, no more crating. I no longer fear for my belongings when we leave you alone for a few minutes. You haven’t had an accident in the house for quite some time. You now ring a bell to let us know when you need to go. You actual sit when we ask you to. You respond to your name. What a relief! You play so well with the children. You let us know when people arrive and calm down quickly after greeting them.

20120925-133735.jpg

I have to admit you are becoming a good girl. I enjoy hearing your clickity clack nails following me wherever I go. I like how you listen so intently to the stories I tell you, even if it’s because I am holding your food dish.

Nala you are good company and you make us feel safe.

Happy Birthday to our favorite Rhodesian Ridgeback. May we celebrate many more years to come.

20120925-134023.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Pets

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Nala!

  1. She’s a spazz but she’s so cute.

Leave a Reply

