A little venting needed!

So….we finally got Dragon into speech.

One of my blogging friends had suggested a fabulous idea (sending big thanks your way) to call the local university to see if there would be student wanting to get some hours. The semester is just starting so they would let the profs know and get back to me. Meanwhile, we got our number called up for the local county MRDD/achievement center. Dragon receives both her occupational therapy and physical therapy there and is very familiar and happy when we attend our sessions. I was all excited that we would get working on speech in hopes to decrease the “frustration” tantrums she is having.

We meet with her new therapist. A very energetic young women who seems to mesh with Dragon well. She was just silly enough, but not to much in your face. Dragon slowly warmed up to her and by the end of our 45 minutes was even engaging her in little games.

I was asked tons of questions that came out of a trifold testing sheet. She would mark down if she was successful, emerging, or unable to do certain skills. At the end of the session the therapist said that Dragon had many 9-12 months skills and some 12-18 months. She is currently 18 months. Ok…. So what next. I was told that she wasn’t really behind and that I could come back in a month to re-evaluate.

Really….she is mostly functioning at 9 months and that’s OK?

Not with me.

When signing out I see the department head. I questioned her on the long wait and then the fact that we are not getting services. The comment I received in front of the entire office stunned me. She proceeded to tell me that foreign adopted children should not qualify for services that are meant for disabled children.

Stunned….I just looked at her…and then I turned into Mama Bear.

I first told her that all “children who have disabilities” ( little pet peeve of mine… children should always come before a label) should receive services. My daughter sat 10 months in an institution. Severely neglected with almost no contact. Her early environment resulted in her severe delays and that is her disability.

I then walked out.

I have no idea what to do next. I am sure her therapist is following guidelines given to her, but I have no idea what the department head was thinking.

Just needed to vent. Now I need to really think out my next step.

Thanks.

2 Comments

Filed under adoption, Family

2 responses to “A little venting needed!

  1. Ugh. I can understand why you wanted to vent.

  2. Ellen

    My first daughter from China also had delays, we were able to get help early on but the school district fought us on giving her speech services. Your daughter has every right to services, just like all other children who need them – and she clearly has a mom that will fight for her, which is the other big piece here. Carry on and I wish you every success helping Little Dragon.
    From Ellen, mom to Madelyn, age 9 (and still in speech!) from Hunan, China and Julia, age 3, from Jiangxi, China

Leave a Reply

